Doctoral Mentoring Awards

The Provost’s Award for Excellence in Doctoral Mentoring will annually recognize outstanding mentoring of graduate students seeking a research doctorate degree. Up to four awards will be made each year.  Each Provost’s Award for Excellence in Doctoral Mentoring will consist of a cash prize to the graduate faculty member of $2,500 to recognize excellence in mentoring. All persons selected for this award will be honored publicly.

2021 Doctoral Mentoring Award Recipients

  • Tia-Lynn Ashman, Dietrich School of Arts and Sciences, Biological Sciences
  • Robert Batterman, Dietrich School of Arts and Sciences, Philosophy
  • Yvette Conley, School of Nursing, Health Promotion and Development
  • Martin Weiss, School of Computing and Information, Informatics and Networked Systems

2020 Doctoral Mentoring Award Recipients

The Provost's Award for Excellence in Doctoral Mentoring reception (March 31, 2020) was postponed as part of Pitt’s response to the COVID-19 pandemic. Recipients were recognized during the 2021 virtual event.

2019 Doctoral Mentoring Award Recipients

Winners from Previous Years

View past Doctoral Mentoring Award Recipients from 2006 on.