Academic Accolades

George A. Klinzing

Klinzing receives Lifetime Achievement Award

George A. Klinzing received the World Congress on Particle Technology’s Lifetime Achievement Award recognizing his contributions to particle technology research.

View of City of PIttsburgh Skyline with bridges

Pitt’s Center for Governance and Markets won a $2.4 million grant to study how societies overcome deep differences

Funded by the John Templeton Foundation, the project will convene a global network of scholars to tackle polarization and social divisions.

drone's-eye view of Pitt campus with city of Pittsburgh in background

4 Pitt students earned inaugural Voyager Scholarships

The Obama-Chesky Scholarship for Public Service supports young leaders who can bridge divides and help solve the world’s biggest challenges. 

closeup of Pitt students taking notes in class

Pitt-Greensburg’s Learning Resources Center celebrates 25 years

The center provides disability services and tutoring help to hundreds of students each year.

Pitt student walking on snowy campus sidewalks

Pitt psychiatry team earned a $16.2 million grant renewal from the NIMH

The ETUDES Center will use the funds to combat adolescent suicide with a focus on Black and Hispanic youth.

Caroline Runyan

New research from Caroline Runyan’s lab published

Her team found that the properties of a neuron subtype are specialized in different subregions of the cortex.

panther statue at Pitt-Greensburg campus

3 Pitt-Greensburg faculty members receive NEH grant

Pilar Herr, associate professor of history at Pitt-Greensburg is the recipient, along with two PIs, of a Scholarly Editions and Scholarly Translations Planning Grant.

Carrie Leana

Leana wins a societal impact award

Carrie Leana, the George H. Love Professor of Organizations and Management at Pitt, has won the 2022 Organizational Behavior Division of the Academy of Management Award for Societal Impact.

Tia-Lynn Ashman

Ashman Receives Humboldt Award

Biology professor Tia-Lynn Ashman receives Humboldt Award for pollen-driven research

illustration of Planet Earth with orange glow emanating from middle

9 Pitt students and alumni named Fulbright scholars

Two Pitt doctoral students, one undergraduate student and six recent graduates were named Fulbright scholars this year. 

Yael Schenker

Schenker named ELAM Fellow

Yael Schenker was selected for the Hedwig van Ameringen Executive Leadership in Academic Medicine 2022-2023 class of fellows.

Diane Litman

Litman and LRDC collaborators awarded NSF grant

Diane Litman and collaborators won a National Science Foundation grant to study natural language processing and technologies that help students revise essays.

Natalie Leland

Leland inducted into Academy of Research in Occupational Therapy

Natalie Leland, an associate professor in the School of Health and Rehabilitation Sciences, was recognized for her exemplary, distinguished and sustained contributions toward the science of occupational therapy.

Asher Hancock

Asher Hancock: Pitt’s newest Churchill Scholar

Pitt’s newest Churchill Scholar, engineer Asher Hancock, wants to put autonomous vehicles in the sky.

Mary Beth Rauktis

Rauktis selected for Fulbright Specialist Program

Mary Beth Rauktis, School of Social Work research associate professor, was awarded a Fulbright Specialist Program grant to travel to Assam, India in August.

Keisha Blain

Pitt historian Keisha N. Blain is a 2022 Andrew Carnegie Fellow

The award supports highly original research in the humanities and social sciences that has the potential for both impact in the scholar’s field and wide public appeal.  

Katie Oppenheimer

Katie Oppenheimer Named 2022 Goldwater scholar

Meet the undergraduate ‘rock star scientist’ named a 2022 Goldwater scholar.

Kevin Ashley

Pitt Law Professor Ashley receives CodeX Prize

The CodeX Prize is given to individuals for a noteworthy contribution to computational law.

Gemma Marolda

Marolda receives Fulbright U.S. Scholar award to Italy

Gemma Marolda, teaching faculty in the Dietrich School, has earned a Fulbright U.S. Scholar Program award to Italy, the U.S. Department of State and the Fulbright Foreign Scholarship Board announced.

2022 Bellet Teaching Awardees Jennifer Laaser, Dana Och and Ellen Smith and 2020 awardee Erica McGreevy

This Year’s Bellet Teaching Awardees

Established in 1998 and named after alumnus David Bellet (A&S ’67) and his wife, the annual award recognizes outstanding and innovative teaching in undergraduate studies.

Keisha Blain

Blain, Harvey Named 2022 Guggenheim Fellows

On Thursday evening, the Board of Trustees of the Guggenheim Memorial Foundation announced the list of this year’s Guggenheim Fellows from a pool of 180 scientists, writers and artists across 51 fields.

Dr. Panos Chrysanthis

Chrysanthis chosen among inaugural IEEE Computer Society Distinguished Contributors

Dr. Panos Chrysanthis, professor of computer science and and a founder and director of the Advanced Data Management Technologies Laboratory, was selected as part of the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers Computer Society's inaugural 2021 Class of Distinguished Contributors. 

Panther statue in front of Cathedral of Learning

Professors Elected to AIMBE College of Fellows

The American Institute for Medical and Biological Engineering (AIMBE) elected faculty members Fabrisia Ambrosio and Ramakrishna Mukkamala to its College of Fellows. 

Theresa Kwon

Kwon wins global competition for dissertation proposal

Theresa (Tess) Kwon, a PhD candidate in marketing at the Katz Graduate School of Business, is one of two joint winners worldwide in a Society for Consumer Psychology competition.

Leigh Patel

Leigh Patel elected to National Academy of Education

School of Education professor Leigh Patel was elected to the National Academy of Education (NAEd), an honorific society of scholars and educators who make outstanding contributions to the education field.

panther banner on lamp post outside Cathedral of Learner

Chemistry professor earns 2021 Scialog Award

W. Seth Childers, an assistant professor of chemistry at the University of Pittsburgh, was part of two interdisciplinary teams that received 2021 Scialog Collaborative Innovation Awards.

Pitt script logo banner on post

Smith receives 2022 Distinguished Teaching of Art History Award

Terry Smith, Andrew W. Mellon Professor of Contemporary Art History and Theory, received the 2022 Distinguished Teaching of Art History Award from the College Art Association, the premier professional body for art historians, artists and museum people.

Pitt's Dan Ding, Lori Delale-O’Connor and Medina Jackson present at SXSW 2022

Pitt's Dan Ding, Lori Delale-O’Connor and Medina Jackson present at SXSW 2022.

Scott Morgenstern receives Fulbright Specialist Program award

Pitt professor of political science Scott Morgenstern has earned a Fulbright Specialist Program award, the U.S. Department of State and Fulbright Foreign Scholarship Board has announced.

Alaina E. Roberts is a finalist for Los Angeles Times book prize

Alaina E. Roberts, assistant professor of history in the Kenneth P. Dietrich School of Arts and Sciences, is a finalist for this year’s Los Angeles Times Book Prize in the history category for her book “I've Been Here All the While: Black Freedom on Native Land.”