Provosts Inaugural Lectures Schedule AY 2012-2013


TO: Members of the Council of Deans

FROM: Patricia E. Beeson

DATE: March 14, 2013

RE: Provosts Inaugural Lectures Schedule: AY 2012 - 2013 

It is truly an honor for me to continue the tradition of inviting distinguished faculty members to present an Inaugural Lecture to celebrate their appointment, and I am pleased to announce the schedule of Provost’s Inaugural Lectures for the current academic year.

Dr. Diane K. Denis
Katz Alumni Chair in Finance (Katz Graduate School of Business)
November 29    

Dr. James V. Maher
Distinguished Service Professor of Physics (Arts & Sciences)
January 10    

Dr. Robert M. Friedlander
Endowed Chair in Neurological Surgery (Medicine)
January 14     

Dr. Peter F. Ferson
Charles Gray Watson Professorship in Surgical Education (Medicine),
January 17                  

Dr. Lawrence R. Wechsler
Henry B. Higman Chair in Neurology (Medicine)
January 28    

Professor Jules L. Lobel
Bessie McKee Walthour Endowed Chair (Law)
January 31    

Dr. James W. Roach
William F. & Jean W. Donaldson Endowed Chair in Pediatric Orthopaedics (Medicine)
February 4      

Professor Kat K. Chew
Judge J. Quint Salmon & Anne Salmon Chair (Law)
February 7    

Dr. Holger Hoock
J. Carroll Amundson Professor of British History (Arts & Sciences)
February 28     

Dr. Paul M. Paris
ERMI Chair in Healthcare Quality (Medicine)
March 13     

Dr. Clifton E. Dixon,
Neurotrauma Chair in Neurological Surgery (Medicine),
March 18    

Dr. Satdarshan P.S. Monga
Endowed Chair for Experimental Pathology (Medicine)
March 21     

Dr. Donald S. Burke,
Distinguished Professor of Health Science and Policy (Public Health)
March 28 

Dr. John J. Reilly, Jr.
Jack D. Myers, M.D., Chair in Internal Medicine (Medicine)
April 2        

Dr. Marcus Rediker
Distinguished Professor of Atlantic History (Arts & Sciences)
April 4      

Dr. Aleksander Rajkovic
Marcus Allen Hogge Chair in Reproductive Sciences (Medicine)
April 11     

Dr. Maria Kovacs
Distinguished Professor of Psychiatry (Medicine)
April 16      

Dr. Peter Gerszten
Peter E. Sheptak Chair in Neurological Surgery (Medicine),
April 18    

Dr. David J. Denis
Roger S. Ahlbrandt Chair (Katz Graduate School of Business)
April 30                                                          

Dr. Prashant N. Kumta
Edward R. Weidlein Chair (Engineering)
May 2                                                            

Dr. Richard H. Duerr
Inflammatory Bowel Disease Genetic Research Chair (Medicine)
May 7     

Dr. James M. Pipas
Herbert W. & Grace Boyer Chair in Molecular Biology (Arts & Sciences)
May 9                                                                        

Dr. Sharon L. Hillier
Richard L. Sweet, M.D. Chair in Reproductive Infectious Diseases (Medicine)
May 14                                                                                    

Dr. Michael Boninger
Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation Chair (Medicine)

Dr. Jules H. Sumkin
UPMC Endowed Chair in Women’s Imaging (Medicine)
May 21       

Dr. Abinhav Humar
Thomas E. Starzl Professorship in Transplantation Surgery (Medicine)
June 10                                               

Dr. James Woodward
Distinguished Professor of History and Philosophy of Science (Arts & Sciences)
June 13                                                

Dr. Miguel Reyes-Mugica,
Marjory K. Harmer Endowed Chair in Pediatric (Medicine)
June 19     

Dr. Kenneth W. Lee
Jane & Carl Citron Chair in Colon Cancer (Medicine)
June 26                                                

Prior to each lecture, you will receive a letter that confirms the date, time, place, and title of the lecture.  This is an important event for the faculty member, as well as the University, and I urge you and your faculty to attend as many of these lectures as your schedule can accommodate. 

PEB/pab cc:
Chancellor Mark A. Nordenberg
Arthur S. Levine, M.D., Senior Vice Chancellor
Mr. Albert J. Novak
Mr. Clyde B. Jones III

Read PDF version of provost's memo