Provost's Inaugural Lectures Schedule AY 2009-2010


TO:               Members of the Council of Deans

FROM:           James V. Maher

DATE:            July 10, 2009

RE:                Provost's Inaugural Lectures Schedule: AY 2009-2010

I am pleased to announce the schedule of Inaugural Lectures for the current academic year.

Dr. Kenneth D. Jordan  
Distinguished Professor of Computational Chemistry (Arts and Sciences)
September 8

Dr. Lucy Fischer  
Distinguished Professor of English (Arts and Sciences)
October 13

Dr. Randy P. Juhl
Distinguished Service Professor of Pharmacy (Pharmacy)
November 24

Dr. Stephen B. Manuck  
Distinguished University Professor of Psychology and Behavioral Medicine (Arts and Sciences)
January 12

Dr. Eric J. Beckman
George M. Bevier Chair (Engineering)
February 11

Dr. Robert L. Hendricks
Joseph F. Novak, MD Chair in Ophthalmology Research (Medicine)
March 25

Dr. Ellen Frank
Distinguished Professor of Psychiatry (Medicine)
April 6

Prior to each lecture, you will receive a letter that confirms the date, time, place, and title of the lecture.  As you know, these lectures are given by newly-appointed distinguished professors and named/endowed Chairs.  This is an important event for the faculty member, as well as the University, and I urge you and your faculty to attend as many of these lectures as your schedule can accommodate.

cc: Chancellor Mark A. Nordenberg
Arthur S. Levine, M.D.
Mr. Albert J. Novak
James V. Maher