Provost's Inaugural Lectures Schedule AY 2002-2003


TO: Members of Deans Council

FROM: James V. Maher

DATE: August 26, 2002

RE: Provost's Inaugural Lectures Schedule: AY 2002-2003

I am pleased to announce the schedule of Inaugural Lectures for the coming academic year.

Dr. Mitchell P. Fink
Watson Chair in Surgery (Medicine)
September 17

Dr. Larry E. Davis
Donald M. Henderson Chair (Social Work)
October 24

Dr. Beaufort B.Longest, Jr .
M. Allen Pond Professor of Health Policy and Management (Public Health)
November 19

Dr. J. Jeffrey Inman
Thomas Marshall Chair in Marketing (Business)
December 12

Dr. Minking Chyu
Leighton Orr Professor of Engineering (Engineering)
January 30

Dr. Terence E. Smith
Andrew Mellon Professor of Contemporary Art History (Faculty of Arts & Sciences)
February 11

Dr. Richard D. Wood
Richard M. Cyert Chair in Molecular Oncology (Medicine)
March 20

Dr. José-Marie Griffiths
Doreen E. Boyce Chair in Library and Information Science (Information Sciences)
April 10

Ian F. Pollack, M.D.
(Walter Dandy Professor in Neurological Surgery)
May 8

Prior to each lecture, you will receive an invitation that confirms the date, time, place, and title of the lecture. As you know, these lectures are given by newly-appointed Distinguished Professors and Named/Endowed Chairs. This is an important event for the faculty member, as well as the University; and I urge you to attend as many of these lectures as your schedule can accommodate.

cc: Mark A. Nordenberg
Arthur S. Levine, M.D.
Carol A. Carter

Revised on December 19th to reflect a change in the speaker for May 8, 2002