

Office of the Provost and Senior Vice Chancellor

801 Cathedral of Learning 4200 Fifth Avenue Pittsburgh, PA 15260 412-624-4223 Fax: 412-383-9640 E-mail: jvmaher@pitt.edu

James V. Maher Provost Senior Vice Chancellor

TO:

Members of the Council of Deans

FROM:

James V. Maher

DATE:

July 14, 2008

RE:

Provost's Inaugural Lectures Schedule: AY 2008-2009

I am pleased to announce the schedule of Inaugural Lectures for the current academic year.

Dr. Thomas Detre Endowed Chair in Gerontology	September 11
Albert B. Ferguson, Jr., MD Endowed Chair	September 30
in Orthopaedic Surgery (Medicine)	
Andrew Mellon Professor of World History	October 14
(Arts and Sciences)	
Henry T. Bahnson Professorship in	November 25
Cardiothoracic Surgery (Medicine)	
Frank and Athena Sarris Chair in Transplantation	January 6
Biology (Medicine)	
University Professor of Sociology	January 22
(Arts and Sciences)	
Thomas E. Starzl Professorship in Transplantation	February 24
Pathology (Medicine)	
UPMC Chair in Orthopaedic Spinal Surgery	March 24
(Medicine)	
John K. Vries Chair in Computational Biology	April 14
(Medicine)	
	and Geriatric Medicine (Medicine) Albert B. Ferguson, Jr., MD Endowed Chair in Orthopaedic Surgery (Medicine) Andrew Mellon Professor of World History (Arts and Sciences) Henry T. Bahnson Professorship in Cardiothoracic Surgery (Medicine) Frank and Athena Sarris Chair in Transplantation Biology (Medicine) University Professor of Sociology (Arts and Sciences) Thomas E. Starzl Professorship in Transplantation Pathology (Medicine) UPMC Chair in Orthopaedic Spinal Surgery (Medicine) John K. Vries Chair in Computational Biology

Prior to each lecture, you will receive a letter that confirms the date, time, place, and title of the lecture. As you know, these lectures are given by newly-appointed distinguished professors and named/endowed Chairs. This is an important event for the faculty member, as well as the University, and I urge you and your faculty to attend as many of these lectures as your schedule can accommodate.

cc:

Chancellor Mark A. Nordenberg

Arthur S. Levine, M.D. Mr. Albert J. Novak