Provost's Inaugural Lectures Series

Three photos showing provost with Bhattacharya and Arsad, Lamberton with medallion, and provost and chancellor with Shlomchik

The history of the Provost’s Inaugural Lecture Series goes back to 1988, when Provost Rudolph H. Weingartner established the program to celebrate the new appointments of faculty members to special chairs at the University. The intent of the program was to introduce the newly appointed faculty members, as well as their expertise, to the University community and the city.

Pitt's Andrew W. Mellon Professor of Fine Arts Elizabeth Johns delivered the first lecture in the series on January 28, 1988. Her talk, titled "From ‘Horse Trading’ to Broncobusting: Easterner and Westerner in 19th Century American Art," gave insights into American cultural history.

On April 5, 1988, Dr. James H. Herndon—then chief of Orthopedic Surgery and Rehabilitation at Presbyterian-University Hospital and new Dr. David Silver Professor of Orthopedic Surgery and chairman, Department of Orthopedics in School of Medicine—presented his lecture "From Health Spas to Biology and Bioengineering,” discussing historical treatments and updates on the care of people afflicted with arthritis.

More than 30 years later, the tradition of the Inaugural Lecture Series continues.

Today, just as in 1988, the event celebrates University faculty members’ appointments to endowed chairs and distinguished status with the presentation of a medallion, the faculty lecture marking the recent appointment, and a special reception with colleagues, family, and friends.

The current academic year’s Inaugural Lecture Series schedule appears below.

Dates are subject to change. Please refer to the Office of the Provost Events Calendar to confirm the date, time, and place of each lecture.

Fall 2018–Spring 2019 Schedule

Dr. Robert Sweet
UPMC Professor of Psychiatric Neuroscience (Medicine)
September 6

Dr. Anna Balazs
John A. Swanson Chair in Engineering (Engineering)
September 13

Dr. Mark Shlomchik
UPMC Endowed Chair in Immunology (Medicine)
October 2

Dr. Catherine Lamberton
Ben L. Fryrear Chair in Marketing (Business)    
October 9

Dr. Chitrabhanu Bhattacharya
H.J. Zoffer Chair in Sustainability and Ethics (Business)
October 23

Mr. David Andrew Harris
Sally Ann Semenko Endowed Chair (Law)    
October 25

Dr. Dario Vignali
Frank Dixon Chair in Cancer Immunology (Medicine)   
December 18

Dr. Hulya Bayir
Chair in Critical Care Pediatric Research in the Department of Critical Care Medicine (Medicine)
January 15

Dr. Colin Allen
Distinguished Professor of History and Philosophy of Science (Arts & Sciences)
March 21

Dr. Terence S. Dermody
Vira I. Heinz Professorship in Pediatrics (Medicine)
April 2

Dr. Sandra Mitchell
Distinguished Professor of History and Philosophy of Science (Arts & Sciences)
April 4

Dr. Sundaram Hariharan
Robert J. Corry Chair in Transplantation Surgery (Medicine)
April 4, 2019

Dr. Michael Colaresi
William S. Dietrich II Endowed Chair (Arts & Sciences)
April 11

Dr. James Gordon Herman
UPMC Endowed Chair in Lung Cancer (Medicine)
May 8, 2019

Dr. Catherine M. Bender
Nancy Glunt Hoffman Professor of Oncology Nursing (Medicine)
May 13

Dr. Alison Morris
UPMC Chair in Translational Pulmonary and Critical Care Medicine (Medicine)
May 16

Dr. Gwendolyn Sowa
Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation Chair (Medicine)
June 17, 2019

Dr. Shari S. Rogal
John J. Fung/Astellas Pharma US, Inc., Assistant Professor in Transplant Surgery (Medicine)
June 24

Recent Inaugural Lectures

Fall 2017–Spring 2018