Academic Accolades

Ghilani Selected for Smithsonian Air and Space Museum Award

Jessica Ghilani, associate professor of communication at Pitt-Greensburg, was named the 2020 Aviation Space Writers Foundation Award Winner by the Smithsonian Institution's National Air and Space Museum.

Matilla Awarded Public Policy Fellowship

Joshua Matilla, assistant professor of infectious diseases and microbiology at Pitt Public Health, was selected for the 2020-2021 class of Public Policy Fellows at the American Association of Immunologists.

Bahar Elected to NAS

Ivet Bahar has been elected to the National Academy of Sciences. Bahar is a distinguished professor and the John K. Vries Chair of the Department of Computational and Systems Biology in the School of Medicine.

Kuebbing Named ESA Early Career Fellow

Sara Kuebbing, an assistant professor in the Department of Biological Science, has been named a 2020 early career fellow of the Ecological Society of America.

Three Researchers Inducted into AIMBE

Heng Huang, Alicia Koontz, and Douglas Weber have been elected to the College of Fellows of the American Institute for Medical and Biological Engineering.

Hatfull Elected to the AAAS

Graham Hatfull, Eberly Family Professor of Biotechnology in the Department of Biological Sciences, has been elected a 2020 member of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences.

Singh Named President of AAPT

Chandralekha Singh, professor in the Department of Physics and Astronomy and founding director of the dB-SERC, has been appointed as the 2020 president of the American Association of Physics Teachers.

Chandrasekaran Appointed to NIH Study Section

Bharath Chandrasekaran, a communication science and disorders associate professor and vice chair of research in SHRS, was appointed a charter member of the Language and Communication Study Section of the Center for Scientific Review.

Harvey Wins Fellowship for Poetry

Yona Harvey, faculty member in the Department of English, has been awarded a fellowship from the George A. and Eiiza Gardner Howard Foundation at Brown University for the 2020-21 academic year.

Murphy Named Distinguished Fellow of AAPA

Emily Murphy, assistant professor of physician assistant studies in SHRS, has been recognized as a distinguished fellow of the American Academy of Physician Assistants.

Inman Named Fellow of the SCP

J. Jeffrey Inman, associate dean for research and faculty and Albert Wesley Frey Professor of Marketing, has been named a fellow of the Society for Consumer Psychology.

Kinloch Released New Co-Edited Book

Valerie Kinoch, the Renée and Richard Goldman Dean of the School of Education, has released a new co-edited book: Race, Justice, and Activism in Literacy Instruction.

Imbrenda Wins National Literacy Research Award

Jon-Philip “Jay” Imbrenda, faculty member in the School of Education, is the recipient of the 2019 Arthur Applebee Award for Excellence in Research on Literacy.

Sotomayor-Miletti Receives International Literary Award

Áurea María Sotomayor-Miletti, professor in the Department of Hispanic Languages and Literatures and Gender, Sexuality and Women’s Studies, won the Casa de las Américas Prize in the essay category.

Solar Project Selected for U.S. DOE Prize

A project led by Paul W. Leu, associate professor of industrial engineering, has been selected for the American-Made Solar Prize.

Booth Honored for Work with Teens

Assistant Professor of Social Work Jaime Booth was awarded the Deborah K. Padgett Early Career Achievement Award from the SSWR.

Adal Receives NEH Grant

Raja Adal, assistant professor in the Department of History, received a grant from the National Endowment for the Humanities.

More Academic Accolades

Read more Academic Accolades from 2019–2020 and from the 2018–2019 academic year.