Academic Accolades

Balazs elected to National Academy of Sciences

Anna C. Balazs, Distinguished Professor in the Swanson School of Engineering, is among the National Academy of Sciences' 120 newly elected members, recognizing distinguished and continuing achievements in original research.

Two Students Win Boren Awards

The National Security Education Program has recognized Pitt students Simon Kioko and Dijana Mujkanovic with David L. Boren study abroad awards.

Means Earns Outstanding Publication Award

Darris Means, associate professor in educational foundations, organizations and policy, has received the Outstanding Publication Award from the National Association of Student Personnel Administrators.

Liu Elected to Physics and Astronomy Organization Leadership

W. Vincent Liu, a professor in the Department of Physics and Astronomy, has been elected to serve the U.S.-based International Organization of Chinese Physicists and Astronomers on the six-year track of secretary to vice president to president.

Leland Receives NIH Grant for Medicare Payment Research

Natalie Leland, associate professor of occupational therapy, is a recipient of a four-year, $2.86 million grant from the National Institute on Aging is for her project, "The Impact of Post-Acute Care Payment Changes on Access and Outcomes." 

Temple Wins College Language Association Book Award

Christel N. Temple, a professor with Pitt’s Department of Africana Studies, has received the 2021 College Language Association's Book Award for “Black Cultural Mythology.”

Kinloch and Feingold Earn ACE Fellowships

Renée and Richard Goldman Dean of the School of Education Valerie Kinloch and Executive Associate Dean of Pitt Public Health Eleanor Feingold were named fellows in the American Council on Education’s 2021-22 class.

Rubio Receives Diversity and Inclusion Award

Doris Rubio has received the 2021 Association for Clinical and Translational Science Award for Contributing to the Diversity and Inclusiveness of the Translational Workforce. 

Pitt 2021 Goldwater Scholarships Winners

Mark Farino and Asher Hancock are Pitt's newest 2021 Barry M. Goldwater Scholarships awardees; the program supports outstanding students pursuing careers in engineering, mathematics and the natural sciences.

Brummond Honored for Encouraging Women into Chemical Sciences

Kay Brummond, associate dean for faculty in the Dietrich School and professor in the Department of Chemistry, is the recipient of the 2021 ACS Award for Encouraging Women into Careers in the Chemical Sciences.

Ming-Te Wang Garners Two Research Excellence Awards

Ming-Te Wang, assistant professor of psychology, professor of education and research scientist at the Learning Research and Development Center, has been recognized with awards from the American Educational Research Association and the Society for Social Work and Research

Schuster Receives Research Award for Campus Study

Maximilian Schuster, assistant professor of practice in the School of Education, was selected for the 2021 Excellence in Research Award by the NASPA Orientation, Retention and Transition Knowledge Community.

Kovashka’s Receives NSF CAREER Award

Adriana Kovashka, assistant professor of computer science, received a National Science Foundation CAREER Award to "teach" computers object detection.

Levy Awarded Grant to Develop New Quantum Computer

The Office of Naval Research has awarded $7.5 million to a multidisciplinary research team led by Jeremy Levy, Distinguished Professor of Condensed Matter Physics, and four other universities to develop more effective quantum computers.

Bahar Named First Female Member of TUBA

Ivet Bahar, distinguished professor of computational and systems biology and John K. Vries Chair in the School of Medicine, was named the first female member to be inducted into the Turkish National Academy of Sciences.

Carvunis Earns Prestigious Sloan Research Fellowship

Anne-Ruxandra Carvunis, assistant professor of computational and systems biology in the School of Medicine, is among 128 early career researchers receiving a 2021 Sloan Research Fellowship from the Alfred P. Sloan Foundation.

NSF Grant for Project on Public Access to Justice

Professors Kevin Ashley, School of Law and Diane Litman, Department of Computer Science, were awarded a National Science Foundation award for FAI: Using AI to Increase Fairness by Improving Access to Justice. 

Goodhart Named SCAS Fellow

Michael Goodhart, professor of political science and director of Pitt’s Global Studies Center, has been named a fellow of the Swedish Collegium for Advanced Study for 2021-22. 

Stover Named AOTA President

Alyson Stover, assistant professor of occupational therapy in SHRS, was recently elected the newest president of the American Occupational Therapy Association.

Three Named to NAI Senior Members Class

The National Academy of Inventors announced it has selected three University of Pittsburgh professors among 61 academic inventors for the 2021 class of NAI senior members.

Diana Khoi Nguyen Wins 2021 NEA Literature Fellowship

Diana Khoi Nguyen, assistant professor in the Department of English Writing Program has earned a 2021 National Endowment for the Arts Literature Fellowship in poetry.

More Academic Accolades

Read more Academic Accolades from academic year 2020-2021, from AY 2019–2020, and from AY 2018–2019.