Office of the Provost

Academic Accolades Archives


Pringle Earns Grant for New Program

Janice L. Pringle, professor in the School of Pharmacy, received a grant to develop a curriculum for a program to be used by the Prescription Drug Monitoring Program to train First Responder Champions.

Harms Awarded AATG/Goethe-Institute Certificate of Merit

Viktoria Harms, lecturer in the Department of German, has been recognized for outstanding achievement in furthering the teaching of German in schools of the United States.

Shilpa Sant

Sant Receives Cancer Research Grant

PittPharmacy faculty member Shilpa Sant has received an award from the National Cancer Institute funded by the NCI under the Cancer Tissue Engineering Collaborative research program.

Asher Receives ICORS Raman Lifetime Award

Chemistry Professor Sanford Asher is the recipient of the 2018 International Conference on Raman Spectroscopy (ICORS) Raman Lifetime Award.


Kinloch Receives NCTE Leadership Award

Valerie Kinloch, the Renée and Richard Goldman Dean of the School of Education, received the 2018 Advancement of People of Color Leadership Award from the National Council of Teachers of English.


Emily Elliott

Elliott Receives 2018 Sulzman Award

Emily Elliott, an associate professor in the Department of Geology and Environmental Science, is the recipient of the American Geophysical Union's 2018 Sulzman Award for Excellence in Education and Mentoring.


Kabirul Islam

Islam Awarded $650,000 from NSF to Study Cell Lineage

Kabirul Islam, an assistant professor in the Department of Chemistry, recently won a three-year $650,000 grant from the Molecular and Cellular Biosciences area of the National Science Foundation.


Diane Litman

Litman Awarded Research Grant from Institute of Education Sciences

Diane Litman, director of the Intelligent Systems Program, professor in the School of Computing and Information, and senior scientist at the Learning Research and Development Center has been awarded a research grant from the Institute of Education Sciences to study undergraduate STEM education.


Emily Ackerman and Jason Shoemaker

Swanson School Pair Receives Gilliam Fellowship

The Howard Hughes Medical Institute has selected PhD student Emily Ackerman and her thesis adviser Jason Shoemaker as one of 45 doctoral student-adviser pairs to receive a 2018 Gilliam Fellowship for Advanced Study.


Cathedral of Learning

Pitt Cyber Announces First Awardees of Accelerator Grants Program

Pitt's Institute for Cyber Law, Policy, and Security has announced the first 10 awardees of the first cycle of its Accelerator Grants Program.


Ann Thompson

Thompson Receives GWIMS Leadership Award

The Group on Women in Medicine and Science honored Ann E. Thompson, MD, Vice Dean of the School of Medicine, with its 2018 GWIMS Leadership Award for an Individual.


Frances Hesselbein

Hesselbein Global Academy Celebrates 10 Years

The Hesselbein Global Academy for Student Leadership and Civic Engagement brought students from 15 countries to Pittsburgh for a four-day Student Leadership Summit in July.


Roderick Tan

Tan Wins Grant to Research Blood Vessels in Kidney

Roderick Tan, assistant professor of medicine in the Division of Renal-Electrolyte at Pitt’s Department of Medicine, has been awarded the 2018 Edith H. Blattner Grant Young Investigator Grant.


Joseph Glorioso

Glorioso Awarded $500,000 to Advance Melanoma Vaccine

School of Medicine faculty member Joseph Glorioso is among the recipients of a 2018 Alliance for Cancer Gene Therapy research grant.

Mostafa Bedewy

Bedewy Awarded $330,000 National Science Foundation Grant

Mostafa Bedewy, assistant professor of industrial engineering at Pitt’s Swanson School of Engineering, was awarded $330,000 by the National Science Foundation to better understand and control the internal structure of nanotube-based materials for emerging applications.


Giannis Mpourmpakis

Mpourmpakis Named Emerging Investigator by American Chemical Society

The American Chemical Society (ACS) Journal of Chemical & Engineering Data named Giannis Mpourmpakis, assistant professor of chemical and petroleum engineering at the University of Pittsburgh Swanson School of Engineering, an “Emerging Investigator.”


Robert Brandom

Brandom Named Fellow of the British Academy

Robert Brandom, a Distinguished Professor in the Department of Philosophy, has been named a Fellow of the British Academy.