Academic Accolades

Gill-Peterson Wins Lambda Literary Awards Prize

Julian Gill-Peterson, an assistant professor in the Department of English, received top honors in the category of Transgender Nonfiction during the 31st Annual Lambda Literacy Awards in June.

Hall Receives Outstanding Educator Award

Martica Hall, professor of psychiatry, psychology, and clinical and translational science, recently received the Mary A. Carskadon Outstanding Educator Award for excellence in education related to sleep and circadian research.

Meriney Receives Neuromuscular Disease Research Grant

Pitt’s Stephen D. Meriney has received one of 26 The Muscular Dystrophy Association (MDA) grants for rare neuromuscular disease research.

Runyan Named Pew Scholar in the Biomedical Sciences

Caroline Runyan, assistant professor of neuroscience, has been named a Pew Scholar in the Biomedical Sciences by The Pew Charitable Trusts.

Swan Receives Award from President of Poland

Oscar E. Swan, professor in the department of Slavic Languages and Literatures and advisor for the Polish minor, was awarded the Officer’s Cross of the Order of Merit from the Republic of Poland.

Delitto Appointed Member of National Advisory Council

Anthony Delitto, dean of the School of Health and Rehabilitation Sciences and professor in the Department of Physical Therapy, was appointed as a member of the National Advisory Council for Complementary and Integrative Health.

Blain Wins Book Prize

Keisha N. Blain, associate professor in the Department of History, was awarded the annual Berkshire Conference of Women Historians Book Prize for “Set the World on Fire: Black Nationalist Women and the Global Struggle for Freedom.”

Chair of Religious Studies Receives AAJR Grant

Adam Shear, associate professor of history and associate professor and chair of religious studies, is part of a team of scholars who received a Special Initiatives Grant from the American Academy for Jewish Research.

Mpourmpakis Earns Prestigious Grecian Award

Giannis Mpourmpakis, assistant professor of chemical engineering at the Swanson School of Engineering, was honored with the Bodossaki Award in the Applied Chemical Sciences.

Rogers Inducted as Fellow of the ACSM

Renee J. Rogers, assistant professor in the Department of Health and Physical Activity in the School of Education, was inducted as a Fellow of the American College of Sports Medicine.

Kinloch Elected Vice President of NCTE

Valerie Kinloch, the Renée and Richard Goldman Dean of the School of Education, has been elected vice president of the National Council of Teachers of English.

Pinsky Becomes Society Fellow

Michael Pinsky, professor of critical care medicine at the University of Pittsburgh, has been elevated to the rank of APS Fellow by the American Physiological Society.

13 Pitt Alumni Receive Fulbright Scholarships

A record-breaking 13 Pitt alumni won Fulbright scholarships in 2019, shattering the University’s historical record of 11 recipients that was set in 2015.

Jakicic Wins Prestigious ACSM Citation Award

John Jakicic, chair of the Department of Health and Physical Activity in the School of Education, received the Citation Award from the American College of Sports Medicine.

Hornyak Recognized as Geriatrics Teacher of the Year

Victoria Hornyak, assistant professor of physical therapy in the School of Health and Rehabilitation Sciences, recently received the 2019 Geriatrics Teacher of the Year Award from the Pennsylvania Geriatrics Society — Western Division.

Gaskew Appointed to NCAA Committee

Tony Gaskew, professor of criminal justice at the University of Pittsburgh at Bradford, has been appointed to a three-year term on the NCAA Minority Opportunities and Interests Committee.

Cooper Joins Hall of Inventors

Rory A. Cooper, director of the Human Engineering Research Laboratories, was recently honored with his U.S. Patent and Trademark Office inventor trading card and portrait.

Ressin Receives Udall Scholarship

Sam Ressin, rising senior in the Kenneth P. Dietrich School of Arts and Sciences, is one of only 55 college students out of 443 nationwide candidates to receive a 2019 Udall Scholarship.

More Academic Accolades

Read more Academic Accolades in the archives.