Provost's Inaugural Lectures Schedule: AY 2010-2011 (September 9, 2010)


TO:               Members of the Council of Deans

FROM:           Patricia E. Beeson

DATE:            September 9, 2010

RE:                Provost's Inaugural Lectures Schedule: AY 2010-2011

It is truly an honor for me to continue the tradition of inviting distinguished faculty members to present an Inaugural Lecture to celebrate their appointment, and I am pleased to announce the schedule of Provost’s Inaugural Lectures for the current academic year.

Dr. Steven H. Graham 

Connolly Family Chair in the Stroke Institute (Medicine)

October 12

Dr. Jeffrey L. Brodsky

Avinoff Professor of Biological Sciences (Arts and Sciences)

October 19

Dr. David C. Whitcomb

Giant Eagle Foundation Chair in Cancer Genetics (Medicine)

November 9

Dr. Angus W. Thomson 

Distinguished Professor of Surgery (Medicine)

November 16

Dr. Brian Gleeson

Harry S. Tack Chair (Engineering)

December 9

Dr. J. Timothy Greenamyre  

UPMC Chair in Movement Disorders (Medicine)

December 16

Dr. Randall N. Halle

Klaus Jonas Chair (Arts and Sciences)

January 11

Dr. Barry London

Harry S. Tack Chair (Medicine)

January 27

Dr. Malcolm R. McNeil

Distinguished Service Professor of Communication Science and Disorders (SHRS)

February 10

Dr. Prashant Kumta

Edward R. Weidlein Chair (Engineering)

February 22

Dr. Bruce A. Freeman

UPMC-Irwin Fridovich Chair in Pharmacology (Medicine)

March 15

Dr. Carrie R. Leana

G.H. Love Chair in Business Administration (Business)

March 24

Dr. Kathleen M. Blee

Distinguished Professor of Sociology (Arts and Sciences)

April 7

Dr. Silva A. Arslanian

UPMC Richard L. Day Endowed Chair in Pediatrics (Medicine)

April 12

Prior to each lecture, you will receive a letter that confirms the date, time, place, and title of the lecture.  This is an important event for the faculty member, as well as the University, and I urge you and your faculty to attend as many of these lectures as your schedule can accommodate.



Chancellor Mark A. Nordenberg
Arthur S. Levine, M.D., Senior Vice Chancellor
Mr. Albert J. Novak