Office of the Provost


TO:               Members of the Council of Deans

FROM:          Patricia E. Beeson

DATE:           December 17, 2013

RE:               Provost’s Inaugural Lectures Schedule: AY 2014 

It is truly an honor for me to continue the tradition of inviting distinguished faculty members to present an inaugural lecture to celebrate their appointment, and I am pleased to announce the schedule of Provost’s Inaugural Lectures for the current academic year.

Dr. Michel S. Makaroun

UPMC Chair in Vascular Surgery (Medicine)

January 13

Dr. Anil K. Gupta

Alan Ross Anderson Chair of Philosophy (Arts and Sciences)

January 16

Dr. Larry J. Shuman

Distinguished Service Professor of Industrial Engineering (Engineering)

January 23

Dr. J. Peter Rubin

UPMC Chair in Plastic and Reconstructive Surgery (Medicine)

February 3

Dr. Patrick S. Moore

Distinguished Professor of Microbiology and Molecular Genetics (Medicine)

February 4

Dr. Richard Schulz

Distinguished Service Professor of Psychiatry (Medicine)

February 11

Dr. Juan C. Celedón

UPMC Niels Jerne Chair in Pediatrics (Medicine)

February 13

Dr. Chester A. Mathis

Distinguished Professor of Radiology (Medicine)

March 18
Dr. James J. Menegazzi

Department of Emergency Medicine Professor of Resuscitation Research (Medicine)

March 27
Dr. Charleen Chu

A. Julio Martinez Chair in Neuropathology (Medicine)

March 31

Dr. Wen Xie

Joseph Koslow Endowed Chair (Pharmacy)

April 15
Dr. David H. Perlmutter

Distinguished Professor of Pediatrics (Medicine)

April 22
Dr. Douglas B. White

UPMC Chair for Ethics in Critical Care Medicine (Medicine)

April 28
Dr. David M. Rothstein

Pittsburgh Steelers Chair in Transplantation (Medicine)

May 5
Dr. D. Lansing Taylor

Allegheny Foundation Chair of Pharmacology (Medicine)

May 6
Dr. Dandan Sun

Chair for Brain Disorder Research (Medicine)

May 8

Dr. J. Timothy Greenamyre

Love Family Chair (Medicine)

May 12
Dr. Arthur S. Levine

John and Gertrude Petersen Dean (Medicine)

May 14
Dr. Jacqueline Dunbar-Jacob

Distinguished Service Professor (Nursing)

May 20
Dr. Joseph E. Losee

Dr. Ross H. Musgrave Chair in Pediatric Plastic Surgery (Medicine)

May 29
Dr. Loren H. Roth

Distinguished Service Professor of Psychiatry (Medicine)

June 3
Dr. Peter J. Davis

Dr. Joseph H. Marcy Endowed Chair in Pediatric Anesthesia (Medicine)

June 21

Prior to each lecture, you will receive a letter that confirms the date, time, place, and title of the lecture.  This is an important event for these faculty members, as well as the University, and I urge you and your faculty to attend as many of these lectures as your schedule can accommodate.



cc:        Chancellor Mark A. Nordenberg
Arthur S. Levine, M.D., Senior Vice Chancellor
Mr. Albert J. Novak
Mr. Clyde B. Jones III

about the photo